History of Emmett's Castle - The Montgomery Maze Mansion
Located in Rockland County, NY, Emmett's Castle at Blue Hill is a restaurant and 19th Hole that provides a unique and picturesque setting nestled between the trees surrounding the nearby reservoir and the greens of the Blue Hill Golf Course.
The Stone Castle's History - The Montgomery Maze Mansion
At the turn of the 20th century, Montgomery Maze Sr., a wealthy New York real estate mogul, purchased some 370 acres in Pearl River and Orangeburg to build a country getaway.
Built about 1901, the mansion’s fieldstone façade, multiple arches, and tower give it the feel of a medieval castle. Although the exact architect is unknown, it is possible that it may have been designed by H. H. Richardson or Stanford White, two of the country’s most important architects of the era.
In 1924 Maze’s son, Montgomery Maze Jr., developed what had been a few holes for the Mazes to entertain guests into a full 18 hole private golf course. The mansion was transformed into the course’s club house and lounge, and the stables and garage became the locker room and pro shop.
The mansion and the course have seen many changes over the years. In the 1960s the transformation of the Hackensack River into a reservoir forced the movement of several holes. In the 1980s an addition to the western portion of the mansion allowed for more floor space. And in 1995, the Woodlands Course, an additional 9 holes, was added to the Blue Hill Golf Course. Since Orangetown took control of the course in 1967, the mansion has operated as a restaurant and 19th Hole / Cafe and bar, serving golfers and the public alike.
Despite the many changes over the years, the beauty of the mansion and scenery remains constant. Many, including us here at Emmett’s Castle, believe that Montgomery Maze Sr. still walks the Castle to this day. Emmett Woods, originally from Ireland, opened Emmett’s Castle on this historic estate in 2011.
Come join us for an unforgettable experience of Pearl River’s rich history.